Skip to Content


Dr. Elizabeth Battles selected as a Legacy of Women honoree

07.17.2019 | By:
Photo of Texas Wesleyan English professor Beth Battles

Elizabeth Battles, Ph.D., professor of English and director of the Texas Wesleyan Honors Program, has been selected as one of 10 honorees for the 2019 Legacy of Women Award by SafeHaven of Tarrant County.

The award, in its 27th year, recognizes remarkable women in Tarrant County for their leadership, impact and commitment.

“Dr. Battles is a shining example of steadfast service in our community,” President Frederick G. Slabach, said. “She is an accomplished professional and devoted community volunteer, and has a level of commitment and dedication necessary to be an effective servant leader. She is most deserving of this recognition, and together with SafeHaven, we applaud her contributions to our community.”

Battles has been with Texas Wesleyan since 1992, including the last 13 years as a professor of English. Her commitment to community service in Tarrant County dates back 30 years, including time as a tutor for both children and adults in a variety of subjects, and as an organizer of summer lunch programs for kids with the First United Methodist Church of Colleyville.

Battles has been part of Mid-Cities Supporters of SafeHaven since 2013, including serving as president from 2016 to 2018. Throughout her time there, she has been heavily involved with the organization’s annual Celebrity Chefs event, which raises money through an evening of auctions and gourmet cuisine. She most recently chaired the most critical fundraising committee of the event.

Other honorees include:

  • Marianne Auld – Kelly, Hard and Hallman
  • Monika Bennett – Merrill Lynch
  • Kimberly DeWoody – Whitley Penn
  • Patti Irwin – community leader
  • Sandra McGlothlian – Empire Roofing, Equities & Disposal
  • Teresa Montes – Frost Bank
  • Debbie Morrison – BRIT board member
  • GiGi Westerman – The S&G Group
  • Ann Zadeh – City of Fort Worth

Dr. Battles and the other recipients will be honored during an event on Friday, Oct. 18 at the Fort Worth Convention Center.