Skip to Content


Theatre students receive awards at Kennedy Center College Theatre Festival

03.04.2020 | By:
Theatre banner main

Over a dozen Theatre Wesleyan students attended the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival for Region 6 (Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas) in Abilene, Texas from February 24-27, 2020.  At the annual awards ceremony, several Wesleyan students received awards recognition.

• Abigail Garraty - Excellence in Undergraduate Design Award for Mr. Burns (Costume Design)

• Lauren Garza - Excellence in Theatre Graphics Design Award for Mr. Burns and the Legacy Award for Smokefall (Stage Management)

• Alastair Sigala Ramirez - Allied Design and Technologies Award for Avenue Q (Puppet Design) and additional Santa Fe Opera Internship

• Ryan Simón - Excellence in Sound Design Award for Mr. Burns

Students were allowed to submit their design work from within the 2019 calendar year, so eligible Theatre Wesleyan productions included Smokefall (February 2019), Avenue Q (April 2019), Turandotte: Princess of China (September/October 2019), and Mr. Burns, a post-electric play (September/October 2019).

Additional Theatre Wesleyan students who attended the festival were involved in the Design/Tech/Management (DTM) exhibition, or participated in the Musical Theatre Initiative (MTI) or the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship.

• Taylor Allen presented her original lighting design for Turandotte

• Bethany Bordelon participated in Irene Ryans

• Tristen Brown participated in Irene Ryans

• Jonathan Burt participated in Irene Ryans as a scene partner

• Reagan Fraze participated in the Musical Theatre Initiative and presented her original graphic design for Avenue Q

• Abigail Garraty presented her original costume design for Mr. Burns

• Lauren Garza presented her stage management work for Smokefall, props design for Turandotte and graphic design for Mr. Burns

• Darin Martin participated in Irene Ryans and presented his original costume design for Turandotte

• Julissa Norment participated in Irene Ryans as a scene partner

• Malik Offor participated in the Musical Theatre Initiative and presented his original mask design for Turandotte

• Reily Randolph participated in Irene Ryans

• Alastair Sigala Ramirez presented his original puppet design for Avenue Q

• Ryan Simón participated in Irene Ryans as a scene partner and presented his original sound design for Mr. Burns

• Nathan Tobey participated in Irene Ryans

Congratulations to these students for their hard work and for representing Texas Wesleyan University well at a festival that encompassed the southern states and included students from community colleges, universities and graduate programs.