Education Faculty

Welcome to the "treasure" in Graduate Education: Friendly, learner-centered faculty!

Highly qualified educators, researchers, writers and practitioners make up the faculty who teach in the Graduate Education programs at Texas Wesleyan University. Many of the graduate faculty also teach in the undergraduate program. You will find caring individuals who want the best for you and for children, teens and adults in all learning communities across the nation and globally.

Feel free to contact faculty members via email, Blackboard, or in person for answers to your questions, to dialogue about a class discussion, to ponder about a research topic or a dissertation plan, or just to find out more about education programs Texas Wesleyan University. Education faculty are known to have an "open door" policy, so send an email or come on by!

Carlos Martinez, Ph.D.

Dean, School of Education

cmartinez@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Bilingual and ESL education, accreditation

Elsa M. Anderson, Ph.D.

emanderson@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Literacy and writing development, ESL learners, diverse populations

Ellen "Aileen" Curtin, Ph.D.

ecurtin@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Qualitative design, ELL instruction, pedagogy

Joe Dryden, J.D., Ed.D.

jdryden@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Off-campus student expression rights and the legitimate intervention by school authorities to prevent cyber-bullying, religion in public education, school finance, standards movement

Lisa Dryden, Ph.D.

ldryden@txwed.edu

Research agenda: Literacy development and instruction

Jacqueline Gaffner, M.Ed.

jmgaffner@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Technology in schools, technology for teachers, co-teaching with student teachers

Twyla Miranda, Ph.D.

tmiranda@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Global perspectives, leadership, teacher formation and reflection, literacy

www.twylatmiranda.com

William "Bill" Newton, Ed.D.

wnewton@txwes.edu

Research agenda: School administration, superintendent development, best practice in supervision

Patsy Robles-Goodwin, Ed.D.

probles-goodwin@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Early childhood education, bilingual/ESOL education, educational issues affecting Latino/minority students and families, diversity

Annette Torres Elias, Ph.D.

atorres@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Early literacy intervention, biliteracy, ESL, teacher preparation and professional development

Kimberly M. Tyler, Ph.D.

kmtyler@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Gifted and talented education, parent involvement, literacy development

Elizabeth K. Ward, Ph.D.

ekward@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Teacher efficacy, math and science education

Celia Wilson, Ph.D.

cewilson@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Applied general linear model statistics, instrument development, best practice in research design, statistical analysis

Robert J. Wilson, Ph.D.

rjwilson@txwes.edu

Research agenda: Science education, best practice in secondary teaching

Contact Information

School of Education
Location: Dan Waggoner Hall
Phone: 817-531-4974
Fax: 817-531-4814
Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm

Contact Us:
1201 Wesleyan Street
Fort Worth, TX 76105

817-531-4444
Get Social: