Skip to Content


Ed.D. Students Take Top Awards at Research Conference

02.19.2014 | By:
Ed.D. students win top awards at Southwest Educational Research Association

Texas Wesleyan students from the Doctor of Education program attended the Southwest Educational Research Association (SERA) conference on Feb. 17 in New Orleans, with several taking home awards.

Kary A. Johnson won the 2014 SERA Bruce Thompson Outstanding Paper Award for her paper, "Multicomponent treatment of rapid naming, reading rate, and visual attention in single and double deficit dyslexics." She will present the paper at AERA in a special session of SERA's outstanding paper winners, and will receive a $750 stipend to help cover her travel expenses.

‌Other presenters and honors include: 

  • Jeff Herr and Shane Naterman – “The offspring of control: The evolution of Cuba’s revolutionary education” (Recipient of 2014 Dean’s Award)
  • Katrina Schultz – “Bullying quantitative study: Using factorial ANOVA and Chi-Square tests to analyze national school crime data set”  (Recipient of 2014 Dean’s Award)
  • Waldine Fryer – “Understanding the impact of mobility on a military child and how it affects academic and social experience in high school”
  • Kary Johnson and Celia Wilson – “Confirmatory factor analysis of the inhibition portion of the attention and executive domain of the NEPSY-II”
  • ‌Jolene Webster – “Hey, you! Get off of my cloud: Utilizing cloud technology in music education” and “The effects of music on intelligence”

Jessica Salazar was nominated and accepted the position of SERA Graduate Representative for 2014-2015. Other Wesleyan attendees at the February conference were Conrad HerreraSolomon Cross and Debbie Roark.

Faculty member Celia Wilson currently serves on the Board of the SERA; Aileen Curtin is a past member of the Board. Both Wesleyan professors have been instrumental in Ed.D. student participation in SERA.