Hatton W. Sumners Scholars Honored at Luncheon

Five graduating Hatton W. Sumners Scholars were honored at a luncheon in Lou’s Place today.

Brandy Hendon, Eliana Mijangos, Glynn Olsen (who graduated in December), Lisa Puente and Nadine Trotchie were presented with a certificate and medal at the event, which was attended by members of the Texas Wesleyan and Sumners Board of Trustees, along with a faculty member who inspired them, staff members and family.

“As Sumners Scholars, we are so proud of the opportunities these students have been able to participate in,” Deborah Roark, grants and research coordinator, said.  “Students have been able to watch and participate in events with nationally-known speakers who make them think and exercise the critical thinking skills that they’ll need as responsible citizens. 

The scholars have attended events with speakers including former Florida governor Jeb Bush, former Arkansas governor Mike Huckabee and political strategist James Carville.

The endowed Sumners Scholarship Program was established at Texas Wesleyan in 1994. Since then, more than 50 Wesleyan students have been honored. 

You may also like:
Send Me Info
Apply Now
Or Sign In to finish your application

Contact Information

Office of Marketing & Communications

Address: EJW Library, B36

Phone: 817-531-5812
Fax: 817-531-5811


Smaller. Smarter.

Ramlink   |   BlackBoard   |   Email   |   Faculty & Staff   |   Emergencies
Privacy Policy   |   Calendar   |   Maps   |   Employment   |   West Library

A Methodist Institution Since 1890
1201 Wesleyan Street | Fort Worth, TX 76105
817.531.4444 © 2012 All Rights Reserved
Or Find it Here:   Campus Directory