Skip to Content


Table Tennis Wins Ninth Consecutive National Championship

04.17.2012 | By:

The Rams locked down their ninth consecutive Coed Team National Championship at the 2012 Collegiate Table Tennis National Championship Sunday, April 15, at the Plano Sports Authority. 

Texas Wesleyan prevailed against Mississippi College, 3-1. With two titles this year (Barbossa and Yahao Zhang took the men’s doubles title on Friday), the Rams have now won 49 national titles in table tennis since the program’s inception in 2002. Since becoming eligible to compete for the team title in 2004, Texas Wesleyan has never lost the event.

Four men’s Rams reached the quarterfinal round, and fourth-seeded Jose Barbosa reached the semifinals. In the women’s bracket, Sara Hazinski went to the quarterfinal round.

Prior to the tournament, the Rams were featured on WFAA Channel 8's morning show and on FOX-4’s Good Day show. For more information, visit