Skip to Content


16 from SB, T&F and Tennis named SAC Scholar-Athlete

07.27.2020 | By:
Photo of TXWES student-athlete Raquel Ramos, one of the SAC scholar-athletes honored

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Sooner Athletic Conference (SAC) announced 41 recipients of its 2020 Scholar-Athlete award for the sports of softball, women's and men's track & field and tennis, along with competitive cheer and dance, presented by Barnes & Noble College. 16 Rams made the list, led by women's track & field athlete Raquel Ramos' perfect 4.0 GPA.
TXWES named six from softball and a trio of women's track & field athletes to the list.
Ramos, a business major from Fort Worth, is a distance runner. The track & field season was cut short right as it started due to the coronavirus pandemic. However, that could not stop Ramos from maintaining a 4.0 GPA for the 2019-20 school year. Teammates Jaclyn Ramos and Yajaira Rosales join Raquel Ramos on the scholar-athlete list.
Kaitlyn Johnson represents the only senior softball player to be named scholar-athlete. The Sulphur Springs, Texas product and biology major transferred from Texas Woman's to become a Lady Ram. Like all spring sports, her final season was cut short. Joining Johnson on the list are teammates Ashton DavisRebecca FinleyBrianna GibbonsCailee Hendrick and Jenna Rhoades.
38 Sooner Athletic Conference softball student-athletes became SAC scholar-athletes, while 34 men's and women's track & field student-athletes around the league were honored.
Although the sports are not sponsored, the conference decided to honor competitive cheer and dance, as well as tennis, with the scholar-athlete award.
Four men's tennis players were honored. Aiden GennusoLinus Richter, Jared Sweetland and Adam White were each named scholar-athlete.
Women's Tennis added three scholar-athletes, Mae CovacevichAurora Novati (who made up one of the greatest moments in TXWES Athletics during the 2019-20 season), and Hannah Rey.
The Texas Wesleyan competitive cheer and dance teams were not included in the SAC list because TXWES cheer and The Gold Line dancers compete in the NCA and NDA respectively, instead of the NAIA.
The criteria to earn the SAC scholar-athlete honor is the same as the NAIA scholar-athlete award. Those student-athletes who are juniors or above in academic standing with at least a 3.5 cumulative grade-point average, appear on the eligibility certificate for an NAIA-recognized sport and have attended two full years as a non-transfer or one full year as a transfer shall be eligible for the SAC scholar-athlete accolade.
In total, Texas Wesleyan featured 65 student-athletes as SAC Scholar-Athlete throughout is 18 eligible sports programs. Oklahoma City led the conference with 89, while Wayland took third with 62, followed by John Brown at 54.
The SAC honored a total of 438 student-athletes who maintained at least a 3.5 GPA this past school year.
Sooner Athletic Conference 2020 Scholar-Athletes
Ashton Davis
Rebecca Finley
Brianna Gibbons
Cailee Hendrick
Kaitlyn Johnson
Jenna Rhoades
Women's Track & Field
Jaclyn Ramos
Raquel Ramos
Yajaira Rosales
Women's Tennis
Mae Covacevich
Aurora Novati
Hannah Rey
Men's Tennis
Aiden Gennuso
Linus Richter
Jared Sweetland
Adam White