Skip to Content


Rams await NAIA selection show - eight named to all-conference team

05.10.2017 | By:
Kiki Menendez celebrates a home run against St. Gregory's.

The Sooner Athletic Conference announced today its 2017 Baseball All-Conference Team. Texas Wesleyan placed eight players on the list while three Rams also received Gold Glove awards.

The Rams are currently ranked 12th in the nation with an overall 45-13. Their 45 wins are the third most in the 48-year history of the program, trailing only the 1978 (52) and 1980 (53) teams. 

The team awaits an at-large bid to the NAIA National Tournament Opening Round. Pairings for that tournament will be released announced at 3 p.m. on Thursday via a selection show on the NAIA's YouTube Channel.  
The All-Conference team, which was voted upon by the league's nine head coaches, features a total of 34 players, 17 each on the first and second teams. Each team consists of two catchers, one player at each infield position, a utility player, four outfielders, four starting pitchers and one relief pitcher.
Four Rams were named to the first team: second baseman Caden Williams, outfielder Kiki Menendez, starting pitcher Stephen Yancey, and relief pitcher Brad Sugg. Meanwhile, catcher Garrett Crook, first baseman Julio Ibarra, shortstop Casey Moses and outfielder Blake Seaton were named to the second team.
Gold Glove awards were given to only the conference's top defensive player at each position. The Texas Wesleyan infield boasted three such players in catcher Garrett Crook, first baseman Julio Ibarra and shortstop Casey Moses.