Skip to Content


Community leader Rosa Navejar to be named honorary alumna
This event is open to the public

10.03.2023 | By: Texas Wesleyan University

Texas Wesleyan Board of Trustee member and community leader Rosa Navejar will be named an Honorary Alumna at the Annual Alumni Medal Dinner to be held on October 20 at the Fort Worth Club. Rosa is a dedicated board member who fully supports the mission of Texas Wesleyan and is an advocate for our students. 

Rosa is a versatile and active member of the Fort Worth business community who has worked to support minority and women business enterprise programs and companies for over 30 years. Rosa has a deep personal knowledge of the Fort Worth community, having lived there since birth and served as the first woman President/CEO of the Fort Worth Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. Prior to her work at the chamber, Rosa worked in banking for 25 years, starting with First of Fort Worth Bank and ending at Bank of America.

Rosa Navejar is currently President of The Rios Group, Inc., a civil engineering firm that provides Subsurface Utility Engineering and Utility Coordination services. She manages staffing, outreach for business development, branding, and marketing, as well as contract implementation and timeline of projects.

Currently, Rosa is serving on the board of directors for several organizations, including Chair of the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce.  She is also a Board Member of The United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, North Texas LEAD, Texas Wesleyan University, The North Texas Commission’s Executive Committee, and serves on the board of advisors for the UTA College of Engineering.

Rosa serves on Congresswoman Kay Granger's Hispanic Advisory Committee, Past Chair of ACEC Tarrant County, John Roach Executive Roundtable, Safe City Commission, and Workforce Solutions for Tarrant County. Rosa formerly served as a board member for The Rotary Club of Fort Worth, An Executive Committee member for the American Public Transportation Association (APTA), the Co-chair for the City of Fort Worth Race and Culture Committee, an appointed member of the National Freight Advisory Committee by Secretary Ray LaHood, and Vice Chair of Trinity Metro, formerly the Fort Worth Transportation Authority.

Throughout her career, Rosa has received accolades for her community involvement. She was recognized as a Texas Can Academy Honoree (2022), NCTRCA John P  Kelly Lifetime Achievement Award (2022), awarded the Madrina Recognition Award by the Hispanic Women’s Network of Texas (2022), a BOLD Woman Honoree by Girls Inc. of Tarrant County (2020), recognized by the Fort Worth Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (2018), and by Larry Anfin, with the John V. McMillan Hall of Fame Award (2018), she also was awarded The Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award by the Women’s Transportation Seminar (2018).  Additional awards Rosa has received includes the Minority Leader in Business by the Fort Worth Business Press (2016), and induction into the Fort Worth Business Press’ Entrepreneur Hall of Fame for her work and civic involvement in the community (2016). Rosa has received other awards and recognitions throughout her career.

About the Alumni Medal Dinner
Each year, Texas Wesleyan University honors distinguished alumni and friends. Their achievements and contributions are amazing reflections of the University, and we are honored to celebrate and recognize them each year.

This year’s Alumni Medal Dinner will be held at the Fort Worth Club on Friday, Oct. 20. The reception begins at 6 p.m., followed by dinner and program at 7 p.m.

The event is open to all alumni, friends and faculty and staff, and tickets are $70 per person. Register online to reserve your seat, and be sure to register for other homecoming weekend activities as well.

Questions? Contact the Office of Alumni Relations at 817-531-6548 or


Texas Wesleyan University author page profile picture
At Texas Wesleyan, we have a rich history and a Texas-sized reputation. As stewards of the University, it is our responsibility to build a future as bright as our past.