Skip to Content


Save the date for the President's Honors Concert April 1
This event is open to the public

03.11.2022 | By:
The annual Stephen Barr Memorial Concert will take place Friday, Oct. 30, in Martin Hall.

Texas Wesleyan's highest-achieving music students will share their vocal and instrumental talents during the 26th annual President’s Honors Concert at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, April 1 in Martin Hall.

"To perform in the President’s Honors Concert is one of the highest honors our music students can achieve," said Dr. Ilka Araujo, music department chair.

The following vocal and instrumental students, who will be accompanied by collaborative pianist and coach Keith Critcher, will be performing in this year’s concert:

  • Darion Chilton, tenor
  • Zoe House, piano
  • Alisha Sharp, soprano
  • Jose Vega, cello
  • Sun Park, marimba
  • Gavin Lopez, baritone
  • Anna Barnes, piano
  • Malarie Hogan, soprano
  • Alex Garcia, flute
  • Abraham Hernandez, baritone
  • Grace Hall, piano
  • Noah Ocon, electric guitar
  • Trinity Stewart, soprano
  • Caesar Mays, flute
  • Ryan Maxey, tenor
  • Fernando Maruffo, piano


The event is hosted by President Frederick G. Slabach and Melany Neilson, along with co-host Mary Pastusek '76. The Master of Ceremonies for the evening is Texas Wesleyan science professor Dr. Mary Ann Clark.

The President's Honors Concert, established in 1996, is now in its 26th year. The event migrated from its original venue in the Texas Boys Choir building to the Scott Theatre in the old Modern Art Museum, and finally to its current home in Martin Hall, where it has been since 2003.


Admission is free and open to the public. Seating is on a first-come basis. Reception to follow at Andrews Hall in the Martin University Center.