Skip to Content


Texas Wesleyan music students awarded major scholarship

06.20.2017 | By:
Jamie Ford, winner of the 2017 Clara Freshour Nelson Music Scholarship Award

The Clara Freshour Nelson Scholarship, which is awarded through the Texas Association of Music Schools, has been awarded to Jamie Ford.  Jamie will be a sophomore music education major in the Fall of 2017. She plays the oboe and is a graduate of Chisolm Trail High School.

The scholarship is an annual $6,000 award and is renewable until graduation. Only one student per university music department per year may apply for the scholarship. Candidates must submit a performance tape and an essay along with their application. Applications are reviewed by a scholarship selection committee. Last year, vocalist Alan Michael Whetsel Setford was one of only five students selected from all private school applications in the state of Texas. He and Jamie are to be congratulated on being named to such an elite group of scholarship recipients.

Alan Michael is a vocal student of music professor Julie McCoy, and Jamie is an oboe student of oboe instructor Elise Belk.