Skip to Content


21st President’s Honors Concert features top music students

03.28.2017 | By:
President's Honors Concert 2016

Texas Wesleyan University’s highest-achieving music students will share their vocal and instrumental talents during the President’s Honors Concert at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, April 7 in Martin Hall.

"To perform in the President’s Honors Concert is one of the highest honors our music students can achieve," Dr. Jerome Bierschenk, music department chair, said.

The following vocal and instrumental students, who will be accompanied by collaborative pianist and coach Keith Critcher, will be performing in this year’s concert:

  • Elizabeth Drewes, soprano
  • Jan Lässker, piano
  • Alan Michael Whetsel Setford, baritone
  • Antonio Quiñones, alto saxophone
  • Chanel Hurd, mezzo-soprano
  • Dexter Collins, guitar
  • Julian E. Rodriguez, baritone
  • Alicia Smith, piano
  • Daniel Hernandez, tenor
  • Tyler Simpson, percussion
  • Alli Perez, mezzo-soprano
  • Luis Calderón, horn
  • Mary Grim, soprano
  • Alex Lopez, baritone


The event is hosted by President Frederick G. Slabach and Melany Neilson, along with co-host Joan Taylor Trew. Ms. Trew is a current member of the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce and is co-owner of Williams Trew Real Estate Company. The Master of Ceremonies for the evening is Ryan Keating '12.

The President's Honors Concert, established in 1996, is now in its 21st year. The event migrated from its original venue in the Texas Boys Choir building to the Scott Theatre in the old Modern Art Museum, and finally to its current home in Martin Hall, where it has been since 2003.

The 2015 President's Honors Concert is March 27 in Martin Hall.


Admission is free and open to the public. Seating is on a first-come basis. There is a reception to follow at Lou’s Place.

For more information about Wesleyan Musicvisit our webpage.