Skip to Content


Bioethics team selected for national competition

03.25.2014 | By:

The Texas Wesleyan Bioethics team is busy preparing for the Bioethics Bowl which begins April 4. Texas Wesleyan is one of 18 nationally recognized universities (and only university in Texas) invited to the conference and to field a team. 

logo from the bioethics conferenceThe 2014 National Undergraduate Bioethics Conference (NUBC) and Bioethics Bowl Competition is hosted by Loyola University of Chicago from Friday, April 4 to Sunday, April 6 at Loyola’s Water Tower Campus along the Magnificent Mile.

Professor Ron McManus, Ph.D., and Professor Kevin McGarry, Ph.D., recruited team members from the pre-professional program and from the School of Business. Team members include Maggie Biggs-Scribner, Krystal Can-Smith, Lorena Castro, Tri Le and David Rai.

This is the sixth invitation for Texas Wesleyan; previous teams have competed at Harvard, Duke, Georgetown and the University of Pugent Sound.

The theme for this year’s National Undergraduate Bioethics Conference is “Morals and Medicine: The Ethics of Becoming a Healthcare Professional.”  

The keynote speaker will be author, lecturer and documentary film maker T.R. Reid. Mr. Reid has made documentary films for National Geographic Television, PBS and the A&E Network. He is best known for his PBS Frontline video “Sick Around the World.” His 2009 book “The Healing of America” became a national best-seller. His latest film, “U.S. Health Care: The Good News” premiered on the national PBS network in 2012.

Other schools invited to compete:

  • University of Washington
  • University of Denver
  • University of Miami
  • University of Tampa
  • University of Baltimore
  • Doral College
  • DePauw University
  • Macalester College
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • New Mexico State University
  • Rutgers University - New Brunswick
  • Florida State University
  • Case Western Reserve University
  • University at Albany
  • University of California, Los Angeles
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • Loyola University Chicago