Skip to Content


TXWES alumni and faculty awarded 2018 Mary Hanna Memorial Journalism Award

04.11.2018 | By:

Paul Austin, Ph.D., CRNA,  professor of nurse anesthesia, Dion Gabaldon, CRNA, DHA, associate professor of nurse anesthesia and interim program director, and Tito Tubog, CRNA, DNAP assistant professor of nurse anesthesia, were all recognized authors in the 2018 Mary Hannah Memorial Journalism Awards.

  • Paul Austin and Dion Gabaldon worked in conjunction with Grady Summerlin, a DNAP alumni to write, “Driving after propofol sedation” which was published in the Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing.
  • Tito Tubog worked in conjunction with Barbara Duffy, an MSNA alumni, wrote “The Prevention and Recognition of Ulnar Nerve and Brachial Plexus Injuries” in the Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing.  

“The consistent, high-quality scholarship published by our faculty ensures Texas Wesleyan’s reputation for excellence in the field of anesthesia,” Heidi Taylor, Ph.D., RN, NC-BC, HN-BC, professor and dean of the School of Health Professions, said. “Our faculty and alumni are making important contributions to the science and art of anesthesia care and to the lives of the students and patients they serve.”

About the Award 

All articles considered for this award were published during the 2017 volume year. Each published article was considered by a panel of perianesthesia nurses and independent reviewers from other specialties. Selection criteria included journalistic style, originality, clarity of expression, relevance of content to the specialty, and overall contribution to the collection of published nursing knowledge.  

Presentation of Awards

Awards will be presented on Monday, April 30, during the opening ceremonies of ASPAN’s 37thNational Conference in Anaheim, CA. The ceremony will begin at 9 a.m. Information regarding the award presentation is available online.


<--- 10-26-2022 -- Scripts for Controlling CrossExpanders -->