Skip to Content


Hatton W. Sumners Scholars attend 2018 Texas Tribune Festival

10.09.2018 | By:
Hatton Sumners Scholars at Tribune Fest 2018 Closing Keynote with Beto O'Rourke, Austin

The "TribFest," sponsored by the Texas Tribune, gathered over 300 speakers and approximately 6,000 participants who descended on downtown Austin for the three-day event examining politics and policy issues facing Texas and the United States.

With the opening and closing keynote addresses by Former U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry and U.S. Representative Beto O'Rourke, respectively, participants attended sessions covering the gamut of both the state and national political arenas as well as party positions.

Additionally, Hatton Sumners scholars were treated to private sessions with prominent Texas politicians and media figures such as State Rep. James Frank and Texas Tribune CEO Evan Smith.

The six Hatton W. Sumners Scholars attending the event were Jared Archer, Nicholas Davis, Bailey Dozier, Emilia Egel, McKayla Harwell, and Stuart Tennyson.

Political Science students David Amaya, Jessica Flores, Ashley Hicks, Samantha Ortiz, Stephanie Ramirez, and Josh Ramos also attended. The group was accompanied by Dr. Michelle Payne, Dr. Christopher Ohan, and Professor Mike Gunnin.

The endowed Hatton W. Sumners Scholarship Program was established at Texas Wesleyan University in 1994. Since that time, many Wesleyan students have been honored as Sumners Scholars. The scholarship carries not only a significant stipend but also various opportunities, such as participation in the Hatton W. Sumners Student Leadership Conference, the Texas Tribune Festival and various other events specifically designed to develop Scholars' leadership potential.

For more information about the Hatton W. Sumners Scholarship, visit

Sumners Scholars Lunch with State Rep. James Frank. At the Texas Tribune Festival, Austin, Sept. 2018

Hatton Sumners Scholars and faculty at Tribune Festival 2018