Skip to Content


Hatton W. Sumners Scholars named for 2018-19 year

04.20.2018 | By:
Photo of Texas Wesleyans Hatton Sumners scholarship recipients at luncheon on campus 2018.

On Friday, April 6, Trustees from the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation interviewed candidates for its prestigious Sumners Scholars Program. The interviews were followed by a lunch in honor of this year's graduating Scholars: Tristeza Ordex-Ramirez, Heather Phillips and Zahraa Saheb. The other continuing Scholars, Jared Archer and McKayla Harwell, were also present.

Texas Wesleyan is pleased to announce that the Sumners Foundation has named the following four students as Hatton W. Sumners Scholars beginning Fall 2018.

  • Nicholas Davis, Political Science
  • Bailey Dozier, History with Secondary Certification
  • Emilia Egel, History with Secondary Certification
  • Stuart Tennyson, Forensic Accounting

The endowed Hatton W. Sumners Scholarship Program was established at Texas Wesleyan University in 1994. Since that time, many Wesleyan students have been honored as Sumners Scholars. The scholarship carries not only a significant stipend, but also various opportunities, such as participation in the Hatton W. Sumners Student Leadership Conference, the Texas Tribune Festival and various other events specifically designed to develop Scholars' leadership potential.  

For more information about the Hatton W. Sumners Scholarship, visit