Skip to Content


The Stars Shine at the President’s Honors Concert

03.04.2013 | By:

A wonderful evening featured operatic excerpts, art songs, and instrumental performances written by legendary composers ranging from Strauss and Puccini to Bernstein and Gershwin. The 12 performers were selected from nearly 30 students who auditioned.

Master of Ceremonies Elizabeth Alexander, A.M. Pate Professor of History of Early American History and coordinator of Secondary Education Program in History, shared some of Texas Wesleyan’s history and introduced the hosts for the evening, Texas Wesleyan President Frederick G. Slabach and Melany Neilson, and John and Kathy Murphey. Mr. Murphey is a member of the Board of Trustees and the business-executive-in-residence at Texas Wesleyan School of Business Administration.

Congratulations to performers Laura Coffey, Hayley Eaker, Kylie Wrinkle, Daniel Wingard, Vanessa Shackelford, Emily Maples-Davis, Andrew Weliver, Sophia Ingram, Becca Mitchell, Adam Pratt, Leticia Michael, and Max Mucino.

For more information about Wesleyan Music, visit our webpage.