Skip to Content


UMC Senate to conduct Texas Wesleyan’s 10-year review

04.04.2014 | By:
Student Body President Kelsi Holland at Texas Wesleyan's Fall Convocation.

Texas Wesleyan is proud of its 124-year relationship with the Methodist Church, and the time has come to renew that partnership.

The University Senate of the United Methodist Church will conduct the University’s 10-year review April 14-16 to determine whether Texas Wesleyan can maintain its affiliation with the church.

The purpose of the Senate’s visit is to ensure the University complies with the standards of integrity, program quality, management and church relatedness. The visit is timed to coincide with the SACSCOC regional accreditation process, which was completed in December.

The Methodist tradition of higher education is based on four major pillars that serve as the basis for church support of an institution, and the Texas Wesleyan mission is closely aligned with these values. The church believes education should:

  • Be available to students regardless of social standing, ethnic identity or gender
  • Appropriately relate faith and reason
  • Help individuals make full use of their capabilities and experience for service
  • Aim at high standards of student achievement

To conduct the review, the three-member Senate panel will meet with President Frederick G. Slabach as well as trustees, the executive and senior staffs, academic deans and chairs, members of the local clergy and the Texas Wesleyan community.

Senate members will be on campus to meet with students, faculty and staff on Tuesday, April 15, and all are encouraged to attend the appropriate session. All meetings will be held in the Baker Building, and each group is scheduled for a specific time:

  • 2:15 p.m. - Students
  • 3 p.m. - Faculty
  • 3:45 p.m. - Staff

After completing the review, the visiting committee will share their report with the rest of the University Senate, and a final decision will be made.

To find out more about the University Senate, visit the General Board of Higher Education & Ministry.