Get your online MBA
Get your online MBA


Football player receives recognition from NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas

03.06.2018 | By: Texas Wesleyan University

Texas Wesleyan University's Geary Jones has been named a National Football Foundation (NFF) Gridiron Club of Dallas Scholar-Athlete.  Jones is one of only seven area college players to receive the honor.

Jones was joined in receiving the award by Evan Brown (SMU), Michael Downing Jr. (TCU), Trevor Moore (North Texas), Thomas Samonig (Austin College), Jacob Sherrill (Midwestern State) and Richard Whitaker (Texas A&M-Commerce).

The NFF Dallas chapter will present the award to seven collegiate and 60 high school players during its 10th Annual Awards Banquet on Sunday, March 18.  The event, which will be emceed by award-winnings sportscaster Scott Murray, will begin at 6 pm at the Dallas/Addison Marriott Quorum by the Galleria. 
Honorees were selected from a pool of candidates that covers the entire region after a rigorous review.  The selection committee, comprised of coaches, teachers, administrators and business leaders in North Texas, evaluated the college and high school candidates based on their athletic accomplishments, academic performance and leadership in the community.
Jones is a redshirt freshman out of Scurry, TX.  The 5'10" 185lb linebacker and business major was also named Academic All-Conference this season.  He recorded 11 solo and four assisted tackles including one tackle for loss.

Texas Wesleyan University author page profile picture
At Texas Wesleyan, we have a rich history and a Texas-sized reputation. As stewards of the University, it is our responsibility to build a future as bright as our past.
Send Me Info
Apply Now
Upcoming Events
Contact Us

Location: Eunice & James L. West Library B36
Phone: 817-531-5812
Fax: 817-531-5811

Contact Us:
1201 Wesleyan Street
Fort Worth, TX 76105

phone 817-531-4444
Get Social:
Go To: