Skip to Content


Five students inducted into history honor society

04.21.2015 | By:
Texas Wesleyan students are inducted into Texas Wesleyan's history honor society Phi Alpha Theta

Five students were inducted into Wesleyan's Omega Zeta Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta at a brief ceremony on Nov. 27. The "unusual" Fall ceremony was held because four of the five will be participating in the National Phi Alpha Theta Conference in New Orleans in January 2018, and two, Stacy McCollough and Megan Victoria Morris, will graduate before the traditional spring initiation ceremony. All are invited to the regular Social Science Honors reception in Spring 2018.

Students Inducted

  • Bailey Bryan-Johnson Dozier (pictured)
  • Russell T. Leahy (pictured)
  • Stacy McCollough
  • Meagan Victoria Morris
  • Andrea Upadhya

About Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alph Theta is an international honor society for undergraduate, graduate students and professors of history. The Omega Zeta Chapter was chartered at Wesleyan in 1969. The society currently has more than 350,000 members, with about 9,500 new members joining each year through 860 local chapters.

Lifetime membership is based on high standards of academic performance in history courses. Inductees will receive a subscription to the Phi Alpha Theta journal, The Historian and receive the PAT Newsletter. The society also offers a number of scholarships for graduate study and encourages member participation in the national as well as regional conferences, such as the Northeast Texas Regional Phi Alpha Theta History Conference to be held at Texas Wesleyan in Spring 2016.

More information about Phi Alpha Theta is on the history program's website.