Skip to Content


Seven students inducted into history honor society

04.06.2016 | By:

On Wednesday, April 6, seven students were inducted into Wesleyan's Omega Zeta Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta National Honor Society in History. To be considered for membership, students must complete 12 credit hours in History, have a minimum GPA of 3.1 in History and a GPA of 3.0 or better overall. 

The history program extends congratulations to those students inducted into a lifetime membership: 

Angela M. Reed
Joanne Barron
Sherry L. Newton
Joe Louis Perez
Richard Pierson Burnett
Crystal D. Madrigal
Casey L. Parker

Following the ceremony, student officers were selected for the 2016-2017 academic year. Sherry Newton was named President; Crystal Madrigal, Vice President; and Casey Parker, Secretary-Treasurer.  

Phi Alpha Theta (ΦΑΘ) is an American honor society for undergraduate and graduate students and professors of history. The society has more than 350,000 members, with about 9,500 new members joining each year through 860 local chapters. The Omega Zeta Chapter was chartered at Texas Wesleyan on April 23, 1979.

For more information about Phi Alpha Theta, contact Dr. Chris Ohan.