Skip to Content


Students inducted into Phi Alpha Theta history honor society

04.22.2021 | By:

Five students were inducted into Texas Wesleyan's Omega Zeta Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta in an in-person, socially-distanced ceremony in the Polytechnic United Methodist Church Sanctuary on April 22.

Phi Alpha Theta is an international honor society for undergraduate and graduate students and professors of history. The Omega Zeta Chapter was chartered at Texas Wesleyan in 1969. The society currently has more than 350,000 members, with about 9,500 new members joining each year through 860 local chapters.

Lifetime membership is based on high standards of academic performance in history courses. Inductees receive a subscription to the Phi Alpha Theta journal, The Historian, and receive the PAT Newsletter. The society also offers a number of scholarships for graduate study and encourages member participation in the national — as well as regional — conferences, such as the Biennial Phi Alpha Theta History Conference to be held in San Antonio this January. Students inducted include: 

  • Jose Castillo
  • Steven Leach
  • Danielle McKinney
  • Jordan Naser
  • Jacob Williams

At the end of the ceremony, officer positions in the Omega Zeta Chapter for the 2021-2022 academic year were assigned to Steven Leach, Danielle McKinney and Jordan Naser.

Students in Phi Alpha Theta have the opportunity to present their own research at national and regional conferences. More information about Phi Alpha Theta can be found on Texas Wesleyan University's history program website.