Skip to Content


Students inducted into Phi Alpha Theta history honor society

04.02.2018 | By:

Spring 2018 Initiates into the Omega Zeta Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, National Honor Society in History. Bailey Dozier, Luke Womble, Alanna James, Emilia Egel, Nicole Sanders

Four students were inducted into Texas Wesleyan's Omega Zeta Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta at a morning ceremony on April 2.

Phi Alph Theta is an international honor society for undergraduate, graduate students and professors of history. The Omega Zeta Chapter was chartered at Wesleyan in 1969. The society currently has more than 350,000 members, with about 9,500 new members joining each year through 860 local chapters.

Lifetime membership is based on high standards of academic performance in history courses. Inductees will receive a subscription to the Phi Alpha Theta journal, The Historian and receive the PAT Newsletter. The society also offers a number of scholarships for graduate study and encourages member participation in the national as well as regional conferences, such as the Northeast Texas Regional Phi Alpha Theta History Conference to be held at Texas Wesleyan in Spring 2016.

Student Inducted

  • Bailey Dozier
  • Alanna James
  • Nicole Sanders
  • Luke Womble
  • Emilia Egel

Students in Phi Alpha Theta have the opportunity to present their own research at national and regional conferences. More information about Phi Alpha Theta can be found on Texas Wesleyan University's History Program website.