Skip to Content


Texas Wesleyan football program signs first football recruits

04.14.2016 | By:
Texas Wesleyan football signs its first group of redshirt football players

Football is back at Texas Wesleyan.

Today, the university officially signed its first football commitments to the university’s revived program.

“Today is a historic day for the players, their families, our program and the university,” Head Coach Joe Prud’homme said. “These student-athletes are making a commitment to write Texas Wesleyan history and be a part of a something truly special."

Prud’homme has stressed that there is a deep pool of football talent in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. The initial signings fall into that mold as all four recruits played football at high schools in the Fort Worth and Arlington area. 

  • Bailey Dozier is a 6’1” receiver out of Arlington High School where he played for coach Scott Peach
  • Jarod Erwin played defensive end and running back and was an All-State selection for head coach Steve Hohulin at Temple Christian School in Fort Worth
  • Ty Lee was an All-District selection at center for coach Randall Hugg at Chisolm Trail High School
  • Carlos Porras played receiver and outside linebacker for coach Jim Jeffries at Riverside High School in Fort Worth

“We are committed to recruiting and educating top-tier student-athletes,” Prud’homme said. “There is a lot of great talent in Texas. We’re looking for players that want to play tough and win, and those who want a great education and college experience.”

Coach Prud’homme, Offensive Coordinator Calvin Powell and Defensive Coordinator Paul Duckworth are recruiting football players to begin at Texas Wesleyan next fall. Players that are interested in joining the team should apply now.

Texas Wesleyan announced last month that it is reestablishing the University's football program with a red-shirt leadership class that will begin practicing during the 2016-17 season. Games are scheduled to begin in the 2017-18 season.

Joe Prud'homme announced as head coach of Texas Wesleyan football The seven-time state champion will begin his duties Monday, Feb. 29.